Discounts & Percentages

“Percent” comes from the latin Per Centum. The latin word Centum means 100, for example a Century is 100 years.

 

Learning Intention

We are learning about discounts and percentages.

Success Criteria –

you will know you have been successful when you can:

# Accurately (90%) calculate the percentage of a number.

 

Maths Dictionary – Percentage of a Number

Quiz – Percentage of a Number

 

 

# Identify the correct answer with 80% accuracy to find the fraction of a quantity.

a) Find 1 of $30
/
5
(b) Find 4 of $30
/
5

To find one fifth of a number we divide the number by five.
Then, to find four fifths of a number, we first find one fifth of that number and then multiply this by four.
Look at the working in the box below.

Finding the Fraction of a Quantity

 

# Identify the discount and sale price of items with 80% accuracy.

Percentage and Sale Price

Percent Practice

Maths Dictionary – Sale Price

 

 

10 thoughts on “Discounts & Percentages

  1. I learnt how to use a calculator to help me calculate the answers for finding percentages and discounts of a price/number. I need to focus on remembering that I have to minus the percentage from the whole number.

    Teegs

  2. Focus:

    • Checking my answers.

    • Making sure I understand the question & what it’s asking me to do.

    • Justifing my answers.

  3. Abs

    Overall on my test, I think I did pretty good as I expected I may have gotten a lower score. I still need a little work on some thing’s like the deposit, I know what it mean’s I just forgot at the time, also I think I may have read a few questions incorrectly, but I still think I did the best I could.

    Thanks, abs

  4. What I did well?
    I calculated the percentage of a whole number easily

    What I need to improve on?
    Reading the questions properly and proof checking my work.

  5. I mainly need to focus on, multi – step problems. Also checking my answer when finding the discounts. I know how to find all percentages of money. I know how to discount the percentage of the money but don’t know how to find the final answer.

  6. I will make sure that I read the question more carefully, I am proud of my results considering that I just have to read the question more carefully.

  7. I have done my discounts well, but need to get my deposit right. I need to also learn how to minus the discount, percentage and deposit.

  8. Abs

    Thank you for marking my work. Overall, I think I did a pretty good job as I thought that I might have gotten a little lower, I still need work on the deposit part as I just forgot what it mean’s in that moment in time,

    Thank you, abs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *