24 Hour time

Learning Intention:

Today we are going to learn about 24 hour time

20160523-195950-1yqiui9.jpg

Success Criteria:

By the end of the lesson you will be able to:

# Accurately (90%+) convert 12 hour time to 24 hour time 

#Convert 24 hour time to 12 hour time with 90%+ accuracy

_____________________________

Maths Dictionary

Maths Dictionary

Facts about time

The Earth is spinning around its axis. At the equator, the Earth’s surface moves 40,000 kilometers in 24 hours. That is a speed of about 1040 miles/hr (1670 km/hr or 0.5 km/sec). This is calculated by dividing the circumference of the Earth at the equator (about 24,900 miles or 40,070 km) by the number of hours in a day (24). As you move toward either pole, this speed decreases to almost zero (since the circumference of the spinning circle at the extreme latitudes approaches zero). 

__________________________________

 

Can you convert between 12-hour and 24-hour time

24 Hour

Time Tools with Teacher

______________________________________

Learning Tasks:

Can you make the time on a digital clock the same as the time on a clock with hands? This is the place to try.

  1. Time Tools
  2. Time Tools 2
  3. Which task did you think was the most educational and why?

__________________________________________________

24 Hour Time

24 Hour Quiz

 

33 thoughts on “24 Hour time

  1. The game I enjoyed the most was game number 1 ‘Time Tools’. This game helped me to learn heaps more about 24-hour time as I didn’t really understand how it worked at first. However, after playing both games I then understood how 24-hour time worked. The games also helped me to understand how 24-hour clocks work. I really enjoyed these games but wish they had have given more instructions on how the games worked as I got a little confused as to how the games worked. 🙂

  2. I learned that to figure out you have to subtract 12 but only if it is after noon, not before noon.

  3. 1) I think game one was the most educational it had the master clock and I had to match the time to the master clock

  4. I think that time tools 2 was the most educational

  5. These games helped jack and I have a more stronger understanding on time.Thank you for the games!

  6. Time Tools was good game although it was just showing me 12 hour clock and an analogue clock so this game wasn’t showing me the 24 hour clock. Time Tools 2 was much better for my understanding because it had 24 and 12 hour clocks next to each other but I just ignored the analogue clock because it wasn’t teaching me much.

  7. These videos helped my understanding because at first I didn’t know much about the 24 hour time but once I asked my dad what it meant because he had a clock that was a 24 hour time one and he said that all you need to do is take 12 hours from the 24 hour clock and then you would get the 12 hour time.

  8. I found that both of them were fairly easy and helpful and I think the first game was more educational because with the ‘time match’ you could use both of the times.

  9. Bella
    am-morning-ante meridium
    pm-afternoon/evening-post meridium
    Am and pm are not used in 24 hour time

    Jessica
    A.M. it stands for Ante Meridium
    P.M. It stands for Post Meridium
    1pm = 13:00

  10. 1) AM= Morning ( Anti-Meridiem)
    2) PM=Afternoon/Night ( Post-Meridiem)
    3) 24:00 can also be 00:00 (midnight)
    Eg.
    7pm= 19:00
    21=9:10pm

  11. I learnt that AM stands for Ante Meridiem and PM stands for Post Meridiem.
    12+7= 19:00
    21+21= 9:10 in this one the minutes don’t get changed.

  12. matthew and Jackson

    we liked the time match because it was fun and it was a good way to learn about time.

  13. AM – morning (meridiem)
    PM – Afternoon/ evening (post meridiem)
    12 = 24:00 or 0 o clock
    6:55 = 6:55 (wont change)

  14. This really helped my understanding on knowing what 24 hour time was and how to do it and the fact that I was shown to add and subtract helped as well.

  15. I preferred the second game time tools 2 because I found it more challenging then time tools. Another reason why I preferred that game was because the first game was to easy for me so I tried the second game and it was more of a challenge.

  16. I liked game one because I had no idea what I had to do with the second game the first game much more sense and it was the most educational one it certainly made me think.

  17. I have learnt that in the 24 hour time when it is 12:00 you do not cahnfe it to the teens and you just leave it the same apps it was on the test. I have also learnt how to read the 24 hour clock and not get completely confused about it. Also I have found out what am amp d on mean they mean ante meridian and post meridian

  18. From watching the video with Ms Johnson I learnt that:
    * if you wanted to know what 7 o’clock on a 24-hour clock is this is how you would work it out 12+7= 19 so it is 19:00 on a 24-hour clock
    * 6:55 on a 24-hour clock would be the exact same thing on a 12-hour clock

  19. I liked the second game it was fun and defiantly educating, I hardly knew anything about this and now I do.

  20. We learned that using analogue clock with a digital clock isn’t as hard as we thought it was.

  21. I preferred the second game because there was 24 hour time instead of only 12 hour time me and Haden made a game out of the second game.

  22. AM stands for Ante Meridian and PM stands for Post Meridian. On 24-hour clocks AM and PM are not used. On 24-hour clocks the minutes don’t change. To get the time on a 24-hour clock you can subtract 12 hours to get the time eg. 12:00 – 12 = 00:00.

  23. We think that the learning tools 2 was the most educational because it made us match a digital time to an analogue time which helped us improve our learning because that is what we are learning in class.

  24. I loved the lessons and videos as they showed detailed lessons about 24 hour time.
    During this time:) I learned what Anti meridian and Post meridian was , which is am and pm.

  25. With Ms Johnson I learnt that …
    • Am and pm are abbreviations
    • Am is before midday and is pm after midday
    24:00 time translate
    • 7 pm = 19:00
    • 21:10 = 9:10pm
    • 6:55 = 6:55
    • 12:05 = 12:05

  26. the task that I thought was most educational was Time Tools. It was great fun matching the times to the clocks. I really thought that if I practise doing that more I will eventually be really good at maths time. it was fun but easy and I really enjoyed doing it.

  27. with this task I learned how to compare the types of time frames and how we read time and then I extended my knowledge on the types of times that we read and how we can translate them into the other time frame and then to the other one. In this lesson I learned how to read different types of clocks and then put them into the other one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *