Storm Boy

Learning Intention

Today I will make judgements about the novel Storm Boy and give examples of why I think this way.

Image result for evaluation

Success Criteria – you will know you have been successful when:

# You can answer the questions about Storm Boy.

# You can think critically about the novel Storm Boy and give justified answers.

# You can create you own evaluation question about the novel Storm Boy.

stormboy

__________________________________

Evaluation Questions

Image result for storm boy

  1. I think the cover is appealing or not appealing because …
  2. I like chapter …. because ….
  3. I think the illustrations are …… because. (refer to the book)

Image result for storm boy

4) I’m not sure about…… it doesn’t seem quite accurate.

Image result for storm boy

5) I don’t think it’s fair …… because …..

Image result for storm boy

6) My favourite character was …. because ……

Image result for storm boy

7) Create your own evaluation question (check how q1-6 are worded)

68 thoughts on “Storm Boy

  1. 1) I think the cover of Storm Boy is appealing because you wonder what will actually happen in the book because it only shows a tiny section of the book.

    2) I like chapter six the best because all of the rough and tough parts are over and you can still wonder what will happen next even if it is at the end of the book.

    3) I think this illustrations are clever because there is a mix of pictures and paintings and I know it would be really hard to paint that well and to take a picture.

    4) I don’t know why finger bone lives on that bit of island it doesn’t make sense to me.

    5) I don’t think it’s fair that the hunters were killing the birds because what did the birds do to them.

  2. #3~ I think the illustrations are quite detailed but could be a bit more spaced out.

  3. 1} I think it is appealing because personally it make me wonder what’s going to happen.
    2} I like chapter 2 the most because he saves the pelicans from the shooters but sadly the parents died.
    3} I think the illustrations are really cool because I like the graphics the illustrator has made.
    4} why are the other pelicans [ Mr proud and Mr ponder] are in the story because Mr Persival was his favourite one.
    5} that the parent died because they could of had a good life with there babies.
    6} My favourite character was Mr Persival because I liked how he acted.

  4. 1.it looks nice with the pelican so it’s appealing
    2.i like chapter 4 where the baby pelicans get found
    3.?
    4.finger bone talking about to kill all animals
    5.storm boy should live in the wild
    6.storm boy he’s interesting smart and poor
    7.why is storm boy collecting stones? For his collection

  5. I think the cover is appealing because it has Storm Boy and Mr.Percival.The cover really sets the scene.

    I like chapter 2 as Storm Boy found the three little pelicans in the sanctuary. {Mr.Proud, Mr.Ponder and Mr.Percival}

    The illustrations match where the book is set, at the beach.

    I don’t think its fair that

  6. 1.I think the cover is appealing or not appealing because …
    1)I think the cover is appealing is because it tells us what it is about and the two main character:Mr pelican and Storm Boy.

    2.I like chapter …. because ….
    I like chapter 5 because a little pelican saved a boat of people.

    3.I think the illustrations are …… because. (refer to the book)

    3)

    4) I’m not sure about…… it doesn’t seem quite accurate.

    4) I’m not sure about why those hunter can get in to sanctuary without asking?

    5) I don’t think it’s fair …… because …..

    5) I think is not fair because the hunter shoot Mr Percival and the reason that makes Storm Boy leave Hide-Away alone.

    6) My favourite character was …. because ……

    6) My favourite character is Mr Percival because of he had the courage to saved those people. Even through he didn’t get it right every time.

    7) Create your own evaluation question (check how q1-6 are worded)

    Do you think storm boy should leave or facing the ploblem?

  7. In my opinion I don’t the cover is very appealing because it is dark and dull. My favourite chapter was chapter 6 beacause it is very appealing and interesting. I think the illustrations were not very good as they were to dark and it didn’t make the book any more interesting.

  8. 4) I’m not sure about how Mr Percival got killed in the end of the book because it also said he did everything with Storm Boy and slept in their house so I don’t think it makes sense that he was alone.

  9. I don’t understand how the hunters got into the sanctuary. I thought that you would need a certain type of license to get into it. But overall I am not sure why they would go into the sanctuary because this information does not seem very accurate.

  10. 5) I don’t think its fair that Mr Percival got killed in the end because he was by himself when they do everything together.

  11. 6) My favourite character is Mr Percival because although was not the best looking and he was sick, Mr Percival was kind and took nothing for granted

  12. I don’t think it is fair that Hide-Away took Storm Boy away from friends and family because it is not the best decision and take a 4 year old boy from his friends or other family as he lives away from the civilisation.

  13. My favourite character was Finger Bone as he is different and doesn’t care what other people think about him. Finger Bone is a perfect to all the teens who care too much abut what people think about them!

  14. My favourite setting in the book was… because?

    My favourite setting in the book was the beach because the beach sounded interesting and fascinating as it was described in a way that I have never heard anyone talk.

  15. #4~ I’m not quite sure why the hunters didn’t shoot Mr Percival earlier, if he were irritating them so much why didn’t they do something about it before?

  16. #5~ I don’t think the hunters shooting Mr Percival was fair, they didn’t seem to be getting anything out of shooting the ducks, no money, food or benefit out of it, so what’s the point to it, its just hurting nature.

  17. #6~ My favorite character was by far Mr Percival, it was as if he was my own pelican when I was reading the book.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *