Term 4 Week 3

 

Spelling City Assignment

Eng 1 Tasks –

#Anagramarama: Carnelian = brunette, Adventurine = stationary ,  Moonstone = student

#Spelling City Assignment, #Handwriting, #WTW – Word sort

#Blog Vocabulary, #Selfie + Text/Frame,

Post to your Blog

Biography notes – Anne Frank,

Letter to Anne Frank – draft it first, then publish it using the Letter Generator

Vocabulary: Define, Grammar, Antonym, Word Origin

1) mounted     2) contingent    3) scolded    4) ludicrous  5) incessant

Thought of the Week

Quotation-Noam-Chomsky-future-responsibility-optimism-Meetville-Quotes-116583

Reflection –

a) What is one thing that you are going to step up and take responsibility for improving this week?

b) How are you going to achieve it?

24 thoughts on “Term 4 Week 3

  1. Vocabulary of the week
    1) mounted
    – adjective, seated or riding on a horse or other animal.
    -Origin 1575-1585
    -sentence
    As I mounted the horse I felt a rush of excitement run through me.
    2) contingent
    -Adjective, dependent for existence
    -Origin 1350-1400 Middle French late Middle English and Latin.
    -Sentence
    The word contingent is a word I cannot give a sentence.
    Scolded
    Noun The teacher scolded me for being late.
    Origin- 1150-1200 Middle English and old Norse
    Sentence-
    The girl from across the room scolded at me.
    4) ludicrous
    Adjective
    Origin 1610-1620 Latin
    Sentence
    The word ludicrous sounds unusual to me.
    5) incessant
    Adjective
    Origin late Middle English and late Latin 1425-1475
    Sentence
    The word incessant is an unusual to me and I cannot give a detailed sentence.

  2. A) I’m going to help my mum more because she has lots of things to do.

    B) I will do this by feeding the dog and the cats. I will also clean around the house and help with the daily chores. To help even more, I will probably clean the car by vacuuming and cleaning the outside.

    ~Zak

  3. Thought of the week-

    a) This week I am going to take responsibility for my errors and change them when they are pointed out to me. Sometimes I am shown errors in my work and I leave them as they are.

    b) I will listen and take into account the feedback I am given.

    -Jojo

  4. I am going to help my mum around the house because my dad is on a 3 week overseas work trip

    To do this I will help by doing extra jobs at my house.

    Will

  5. Hi Ms Sinnamon

    These are my Vocabulary words.

    Mounted

    Define-seated or riding on a horse or other animal.
    Grammar- adjective
    Origin-1575-15851575-85
    Antonyms- descend

    Contingent

    Define-dependent for existence, occurrence, character, etc., on something not yet certain; conditional (often followed by on or upon):
    Grammar- adjective
    Origin-1350-1400; late Middle English (present participle) (< Middle French)
    Antonym- certain

    Scolded

    Define-to find fault with angrily; chide;
    Grammar-verb
    Origin-1150-1200; (noun) Middle English, variant of scald < Old Norse skald poet
    Antonyms- praise

    Ludicrous

    Define-causing laughter because of absurdity; provoking or deserving derision; ridiculous; laughable:
    Grammar- adjective
    Origin-1610-20; < Latin lūdicrus sportive, equivalent to lūdicr(um) a show, public games
    Antonym- unhappy

    Incessant

    Define-continuing without interruption; ceaseless; unending:
    Grammar- adjective
    Origin-1425-75; late Middle English
    Antonym-intermittent

    From Nathan😃🚀

  6. Hi Ms Sinnamon These are my vocabulary words.

    1) Mounted
    Define:
    seated or riding on a horse or other animal.
    Grammar:
    Adjective.
    Antonym:
    descend, afoot.
    Origin:
    1575-1585.

    2)Contingent
    Define:
    dependent for existence, occurrence, character, etc., on something not yet certain; conditional.
    Grammar:
    Adjective, Noun.
    Origin:
    1350-1400, late Middle English, Middle French.

    3)scolded
    Define:
    to find fault; reprove.
    Grammar:
    Noun, Verb.
    Antonym:
    praise.
    Origin:
    1150-1200, Middle English.

    4)ludicrous
    Define:
    causing laughter because of absurdity; provoking or deserving derision; ridiculous; laughable.
    Grammar:
    Adjective.

    TBC

    Ben

  7. Hi Ms Johnson and Ms Sinnamon

    This is my thought of the week comment.

    A) I am going to take responsibility in my spelling city and Mathletics homework and complete them again.

    B) I will achieve this by doing my homework for spelling city and Mathletics everyday for 20 minutes.

    From Nathan👾😃

  8. 1)This week I am going to take on board others advice because some times just don’t listen to other peoples advice

    2)I will listen and take advice on board

    Neta

  9. Hi Ms Sinnamon

    These are my continued vocabulary words

    4)ludicrous
    Origin:
    1610-1620

    5)incessant
    Define:
    Continuing without interruption; ceaseless; unending.
    Grammar:
    Adjective.
    Antonym:
    intermittent.
    Origin:
    1425-75, Late Middle English, Late Latin.

    Ben 😃

  10. Hey Ms Sinnamon

    This is my blog vocabulary

    1) Mounted

    Definition: Seated or riding on a horse or other animal.

    Gramma: Adjective

    Antonyms: Afoot, decend

    Origin: 1575-1585

    2) Contingent

    Definition : Dependent for existence, occurrence or character on something not yet certain conditional.

    Gramma: Adjective, Noun

    Origin:1350-1400- late Middle English Middle French

    3) Scolded

    Definition: To use abusive language.

    Gramma: Verb, Noun

    Antonym: Praise

    Origin: 1150-1200; Middle English

    4) Ludicrous

    Definition: Causing laughter because of absurdity; provoking or deserving derision; ridiculous; laughable:

    Gramma: Adjective

    Antonyms: Unhappy

    Origin: 1610-20; < Latin

    5) Incessant

    Definition: Continuing without interruption; ceaseless; unending.

    Gramma: Adjective

    Antonyms: Intermittent

    Origin: 1425-75; late Middle English

  11. Vocabulary:

    Mounted: seated or riding on a horse or other animal. Grammar: adjective – The guy mounted the horse. Antonyms: afoot, dismounted, unhorsed. Origin: 1575-85.

    Contingent: dependent for existence, occurrence, character, etc, on something not yet certain. Grammar: adjective – If you’re given a sixty-dollar loan, your chance of getting another loan is contingent on you paying that back. Antonyms: designed, certain, sure, essential. Origin: 1350-1400 late Middle English.

    Scolded: to find fault with angrily; chide; reprimand. Grammar: verb – The teacher scolded the child for swearing. Antonyms: complimented, praised. Origin: 1150-1200 Middle English.

    Ludicrous: causing laughter because of absurdity; provoking or deserving derision; ridiculous; laughable. Grammar: adjective – The ludicrous situation ended up with people laughing their heads off. Antonyms: common, ordinary, tragic, familiar, reasonable. Origin: 1610-20 Latin.

    Incessant: continuing without interruption; ceaseless; unending. Grammar: adjective – It has become nothing but tiresome, incessant blathering. Antonyms: bounded, inconstant, stopping, ceasing. Origin: 1425-75 late Middle English.

    Zak 😀

  12. Reflection

    1) This week I am going to take resonsibility for my SpellingCity activities and get 9-10/10 for my activities, and focus on my homework.

    2) To achieve this I will do 3 SpellingCity activities per day and do 20 minutes of homework per day (excluding SpellingCity).

  13. Hi Ms Sinnamon
    This is my thought of the week

    A)What is one thing that you are going to step up and take responsibility for improving this week?

    I’m going to help my dad around the house e.g. Clean the dishes after dinner.

    B)how are you going to achieve it?

    Instead of going to watch TV I am going to wash the dishes.

    Ben😜

  14. Reflection:
    a) What is one thing that you are going to step up and take responsibility for improving this week? = I am going ot step up and take responsibility for improving my skills in fitness in the mornings.

    b) How are you going to achieve it? = I will acheive this by working harder at fitness during the morning session.

    REFLECTION DONE!!

    CHEES3 OUTT!

  15. Good reflection, Ben. I’m glad to hear that you are taking on additional responsibilities around the house. I’m sure your Dad will be grateful.

  16. Vocabulary-

    1)Mounted
    Definition: Seated or riding on a horse or an other animal
    Grammar:Adjective
    Antonyms:Afoot,unhorsed
    Origin:1580’s “On Horseback”

    Will 🙂

  17. Interdependence:
    Definition- the quality or condition of being interdependent
    Grammar- noun
    Antonym- ?
    Origin- 1822 from inter + dependence
    Empower:
    Definition- to give power or authority
    Grammar- verb
    Antonym- warrant, commission, license, qualify
    Origin- 1645 – 55 em + power
    Compromise:
    Definition- an agreement or settlement
    Grammar-noun
    Antonym- ?
    Origin- late Middle English 1400-1450
    Exhilarate:
    Definition- make someone feel very happy
    Grammar- verb
    Antonym- animate, spirit, elate
    Origin- Latin 1530-1540
    ~ Mikeela

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *