Term 3 Week 9

 

            

 

News Article Biography
Autobiography  Lyrics

Vocabulary: Your interpretation of the authors meaning:

1) Are you really disappearing?    2) Is it standing by your mate?    3) Fair Dinkum  4)  Can you bear the load?

Ballad Thoughts

1a) When you listen to the words – what do you think of?   1b) In the tribute to Steve Irwin what links can you make to the Emu Gully Philosophy?

1c) Explain how this ballad and ‘Mate-ship’ fit together?

Camp Reflection

Our philosophy is that your success in life, whether personally or corporately, will be based primarily on your character.

 That is; “The real you” and the way you handle the circumstances of life, whether they be good or bad.

a) Favourite memory from camp?  b) Best activity   c) What does ‘Mateship’ mean to you now? d) Your thoughts on the Emu Gully Philosophy & how it relates to you.

                                                                                                                      Quote of the Week

                                                                                                                 1) What is the author trying to say?

1) What is the author trying to say?

 

42 thoughts on “Term 3 Week 9

  1. Hi Ms Johnson. Here are a few of my Camp Reflections.

    a) My favourite memory of camp is probably the night activities with the mountain climbing and the invasion at the enemy’s base.

    I will continue this comment later.

  2. Vocabulary:
    1) Are you really disappearing?: I think it means when a person or animal or something is getting old and might pass away.

    2) Is it standing by your mate?: This means that if you are showing mate-ship and are helping your friend out.

    3) Fair Dinkum: Fair Dinkum means are you serious or are you for real.

    4) Can you bear the load?: This means can you carry the weight that is put on your shoulders or can you handle the guilt or something like that.

    ~Zak

  3. Vocabulary: My interpretation
    1) Are you really disappearing?
    I think it means ‘Are you really dying?’

    2) Is it standing by your mate?
    I believe this means ‘Standing by your friends, no matter what they face.’

    3) Fair Dinkum
    I think it means ‘Seriously?’ or ‘Are you kidding?’

    4) Can you bear the load?
    I believe this line means ‘can you bear the weight that comes with other people dying?’

  4. Vocabulary Author’s meaning
    Are you really disappearing?
    Are you really gone?
    Is it standing by your mates?
    Standing up for your family and or friends
    Fair Dinkum
    True blue or Aussie
    Can you bear the load?
    Can you bear what is really happening or are you living in a fantasy world
    -Hayley

  5. Ballad thoughts:
    1a) it reminds me of a person dying or has died like a memorial. It’s a sad meaningful song.

    Vocabulary: your interpretation of the authors meaning:
    My interpretation isn’t very good on this.
    1) as if someone special or famous is leaving ( like Steve Irwin )
    2) I’m not exactly sure, but I see it as sticking up or supporting your mate.
    3) I’m not sure.
    4) I’m not sure.

    -Ianthe

  6. Ballad Thoughts:
    1a) I think of people that are elderly and that are soon to passing away.

    1b) I can link the mate-ship showing by giving Steve Irwin a memorial at his zoo. I also can see his success in life by becoming a famous Australian and being courteous to people by helping them and building a great zoo.

    1c) They fit together by the lyrics as it says ‘Is it standing by your mate’. Virtually the whole song is based on mate-ship.

    ~Zak

  7. Camp reflection-
    A) My favourite memory on camp was going in the mud. I thought that was really fun because my group Charlie worked great together.

    B) My favourite activity would probably be the big tunnel where we had to save the Sargent out of the tunnels. Even though I don’t like tight spaces it was my favourite!

    C) Mateship means a member of my team and a friend that I should always help. It means a fellow man which should never be left behind no matter how bad the circumstance is.

    D) The philosophy means to me that, it is always going to be the way to take the challenge on the chin. If you take the easy way out or you do it properly.

    -Kahlia 🙂

  8. Camp Reflection:
    a) My favourite memory was helping people out of the mud in the Kokoda Track

    b) The best activity was the Kokoda Track and going through the mud, then going in a small river and washing off.

    c) Mate-ship means a lot to me now because I realised that I was a bit selfish and I found it fun helping people throughout the tunnels and mostly the mud.

    d) I think that the philosophy was good and by the end of the camp I found out that it had related to me because going into camp I probably wouldn’t of helped people but by the Kokoda Track I realised that it was fun to help people.

    ~Zak

  9. Vocabulary:
    1) Are you really disappearing?
    = Are you going to die out soon?
    2) Is it standing by your mate?
    = It it being a good friend and being friendly?
    3) Fair Dinkum
    = Good job, fair enough
    4)Can you bear the load?
    = Can you keep going on?

  10. Hi Ms Johnson,

    Vocabulary:

    1) Are you really disappearing?
    Is the person/animal passing away

    2) is it standing by your mate?
    Always taking your friends side and showing mate ship.

    3) Fair Dinkum
    True, true blue, Aussie

    4) Can you bear the load?
    Can you handle the truth of somebody dying

    -Jasmin

  11. Vocabulary Authors Meaning

    1) Are you really disappearing?
    Metaphoricly this line means that people are losing there true patriotism and forgetting the maning of being Aussie or a ‘True Blue’.
    To be continued
    -Christian

  12. Hi Ms Johnson and Miss Sinnamon. Here are my Vocabulary answers for Week 9, Author’s meaning.

    1) Are you really disappearing in the second stanza refers to how sometimes there are fads, and he was asking if Australians are not going to be true to our country, when we were always known as loyal people. He is saying that our reputation could be tarnished and that don’t change, don’t die out or become different. Keep on being a true blue, don’t stop being loyal to our country.

    2) Is it standing by your mate, from multiple stanzas. This reflects how Aussies were known for always going back for their mates. In the wartime, the ANZACs were known for never leaving a man behind. This could get them injured, but they helped their mates. John is demonstrating in this line that the True Blue spirit is leave no man behind. Always stand by your mates, even when they’re in trouble.

  13. I’m glad you were able to face a fear of tight spaces. I hope you learned from your experience. Miss Sinnamon.

  14. Hi Ms Johnson and Miss Sinnamon. Here are my other answers for Vocabulary.

    3) Fair Dinkum means tell the truth. True blue Aussies always told the truth, and were honest. They weren’t deceitful or dishonest, and this was an admirable trait in an Australian. Similar phrases are; are you kidding, no way, you’ve got to be joking. In this context, it means unbelievable, it can’t be true.

    4) Can you bear the load in this context means, can you bear the thought. Can you face the reality, or are you in a dreamlike state. It is really hard sometimes, but Aussies are steadfast and resilient and this is demonstrated in the lyrics.

  15. Hi Ms Johnson

    This is my thought on the quote of the week.

    1) The author is saying that children learn at different paces and start off at different levels and that some children are not as gifted as other people.

    From Nathan

  16. Hi Ms Johnson
    This is my thought of the quote of week.

    1) The author is trying to say that every person learns at different paces and abilities and everyone is special in their own way.

    Ben 😆

  17. Quote of the week
    The author of this quote is trying to say that children shouldn’t be compared to each other and that there all special and should be cherished.

  18. Hi Ms Johnson

    This is my Vocabulary

    1) Are you really disappearing?
    Means are you passing away.

    2) Is it standing by your mate?
    Means are you with your friends.

    3) Fair Dinkum
    Means tell the truth

    4) Can you bear the load?
    Can you handle reality.

    From Nathan

  19. Hi Ms Johnson

    This is my vocabulary

    1)Are you really disappearing
    =Are you really leaving

    2)Is it standing by your mate
    =being with your mate to help him.

    3)Fair Dinkum
    =Tell the truth

    4)Can you bear the load
    =Can you handle reality.

    Ben 😆

  20. Camp reflection:
    a) My favourite memories from camp (I had two) was in the Kokoda track when everyone was helping each other get through the mud and help them get up the rocky hill. My other favourite memory was at ‘The Swinging Log when everyone who was not having their go held onto the log to steady it then moves slowly away when they started walking. I also like how everyone was encouraging people if they wanted to be encouraged. Because of the teamwork and mateship we showed I think we should have gotten extra points.
    b) I thought that there were three really good activities, The truck ride and looking at the tanks, The flour bomb fight and The Kokoda Track. (I didn’t really like the part where we got out because it was FREEZING!) I also thought going down the hill on the slide at night was really cool.
    c) Never leaving a man being even if what you have to do to get that man/ woman is frightening or might cause you harm.
    d) I think that the philosophy of Emu Gully is true and like what Zak said, I think I would have never of experienced the philosophy if I didn’t go to Emu Gully.
    Nick.k 🙂

  21. Vocabulary:
    A) I think John means dying because in the next line he says just another dying race.
    b) He means helping your friend out when he needs it.
    c) It means telling the truth for example, “are you fair dikum” means are you telling the truth?
    d)I think it means are you going to be alright if you do something.
    Nick.k 🙂

  22. Since you will not be here next week Ms Johnson would you like me to do next weeks post on my blog because I have time and everything. I will even find an Aussie Ballard for the class to do.

  23. Hi everyone,
    I have a new challenge on my blog!
    The challenge is to come up with your own lolly and it has to do something ( Look on my blog for some EXAMPLES!) and try and do as many as you can because on the 21st of September I am going to judge them and the winners will get a prize ( Their will be a winner for Boys and Girls so their are different categories!) .

  24. Dear Ms Johnson and Ms Sinnamon

    Here are the vocabulary tasks.
    1. I believe it means something like, please don’t say that your dead, you can’t be dead, are you, are you really?

    2. Does it mean helping out your friends when things get tough?

    3. Fair Dinkum means telling the truth.

    4. It means, are you sure you can take it all on? For example, if someone did musical, debating, netball and was in grade twelve, someone may ask can you bear the load, or are you sure you can do all of that.

    -Tazzin

  25. Ballad Thoughts:
    a) I think of Steve Irwin’s life and his memorial service.
    b) There’s a link that I know about Steve Irwin and the philosophy, Steve always helped animals if they needed it and because of that he became an Aussie idol.
    c) I know that somewhere in the song it says ‘Is it standing by your mate, when he’s in a fight or will she be right”. So the ballad does fit in with mateship.
    Riddle Master A.K.A Nick.k 🙂

  26. Quote of the Week:
    I think it means that you shouldn’t judge kids if they can’t do things those other kids can do, even if they try their best. Every kid is unique.
    Riddle Master 🙂

  27. Camp Reflection:

    C) What does “Mate-ship” mean to you.
    = Mate-ship means being a good friend and never leaving anyone behind? Not quite sure
    D) Your thoughts on the Emu Gully philosophy and how it relates to you.
    = The philosophy relates to me in the way I don’t care if I might not be able to do it, I want to do it,so I will try.

  28. Hi Ms Johnson, Miss Sinnamon and Mrs Fitz. Here are my Ballad thoughts.

    1a) I think it is a sad song, with a melancholy meeting. In my head I have a picture of many people demonstrating admirable traits, and helping each other, being loyal. Then they slowly disappear, being replaced by selfish, shallow people who turn their backs on each other. This is in my mind when the lyrics say “Are you really disappearing?” the kind people go away, same with all the good in the world. This is then replaced by the other people. To my mind it is that all admirable True Blues are a ‘dying race’ in these lyrics and the composer is asking us if we are still ready to die for our mates, like the ANZACs did in the war.

    1b) Everybody was miserable at the tribute, and the Emu Gulley philosophy is saying how your character is formed on how you deal with life, and your outlook on life. At the memorial service, people could have been thoroughly miserable, and groan to the world. Instead they tried to make it in memory of him, to include his highlights of life, such as his favourite song. True Blue was a tribute to him, and people respected his memory by playing it. People tried the philosophy by dealing with the unfortunate circumstances, instead of hiding from the world and refusing to face the truth. They did the ceremony out of respect to him, proving that they could face life and keep their chin-up.

    1c) Mate ship is shown in this song, particularly in the chorus. “Is it standing by your mate . . .” These lyrics reflect teamwork by standing by your mate. It doesn’t matter what they have done in life, it is about what they will do in life. Even if the world is against them, the song lyrics are telling us to defend your mates, and always stick by them. The lyrics “Or will she be right?” say that even if you think that they are independent, you should still se what you can do to help, don’t abandon your mates. This ballad is saying that show the True Blue spirit, and be loyal and a great mate. The lyrics are saying, care that you are a part of this and show a brave face and stand by those you call friends.

  29. True Blue Thoughts-
    1) When I hear the ballad “True Blue”, I think of my puppy Toby. We adopted him as a rescue dog and if we didn’t adopt him when we did, he would have been put down. The lyrics of “True Blue” make me think that John Williamson is talking about a dying dog, and this is the connection I make with my dog. Hearing the tune and lyrics remind me of what fate could’ve awaited him if he was put down.
    2) Steve Irwin was a well-known Australian and his death shocked the whole country. Steve was a person everyone could trust to be honest and resilient, and so he had a great character. It was this character that made everyone enjoy being near him or talking about him. And so from that, everyone was shattered by this wonderful character’s death; and it relates to the Emu Gully Philosophy by showing that people relate better to energetic characters rather than bland ones.
    3) True Blue relates to Mateship by talking about how sad John Williamson was when his mate was dying. It seems to me that the lyrics are portraying how Williamson felt when one of his mates was going through a troubled time of sickness or death.
    -Jojo

  30. Hi Ms Johnson, Miss Sinnamon and Mrs Fitz. Here are my Camp Reflections.

    A) My favourite memory is of the trenches, when we were learning all about life there and the possible dangers, such as gas. One of the facts I remember is that over 9 million horses died during the war, and many dogs, donkeys and pigeons also died during service. We learnt about their conditions of life in the trenches, and saw how different the officers’ rest places were compared to the normal soldiers’. They actually played music on an old gramophone.

    B) As I said previously, my favourite activities were the night ones. I thought that Charlie showed great teamwork while climbing the mountain and inside the enemy’s base. The slide was also one of the things that tested me. I was fine with it in the day, but it was quite creepy at night, probably because I wasn’t used to the speed or my surroundings at the time. I also really enjoyed the water activities.

  31. For the quote I think the author is trying to say that everyone is different and do not judge people by that, and that with our differences it makes us who we are.

    Will 🙂

  32. Camp Reflection-

    Our philosophy is that your success in life, whether personally or corporately, will be based primarily on your character.
    That is; “The real you” and the way you handle the circumstances of life, whether they be good or bad.

    1) My favourite memory from camp would probably be the tunnels (Tunnel Rats of Vietnam, not Escape From Colditz), as I really over came a fear then and I actually went inside AGAIN. The first time I went in I was scared out of my wits: I stopped about a meter in and cradled myself because I was in what you could call my “Fear Landscape” which combined two of my worst fears. They were Claustrophobia and a fear of the dark (I’m not sure what that is called). I had to have some of the tops of the tunnels open so I could see some light. The second time I went through, I crawled through the whole tunnel without stopping and cradling myself OR having any of the lids open. I was really proud of myself there.
    2) My favourite activity was swimming through the mud in the Kokoda Trail Challenge and having such fun in an activity that I thought I would not enjoy. Camp was a great experience and if I could, I would definitely go back again.

    I am not able to finish this comment right now, so I will come back and complete it later.

    -Jojo

  33. Questions (Vocabulary)
    1. Are you really disappearing…
    A. To me this means; are you truly dead or dying?

    2. Is it standing by your mate…
    A. This means; are you looking and helping out your friends?

    3. Fair dinkum…
    A. Loyal, shows mate ship, is honest.

    4. Can you bare the load…
    A. Can you handle what is being put on your shoulders?

    ~Madajah

  34. With the Aussie Ballard for next week I am going to do either Waltzing Matilda or The Man from Ironbark! Which one would you like me to do?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *